Short span (30m or less)

Winner: Trumpf Bridge, Ditzingen, Baden-Wuerttemberg, Germany

  • Commissioning authority: Trumpf GmbH + Co KG
  • Principal designer: schlaich bergermann partner
  • Architect/structural engineer: schlaich bergermann partner
  • Principal contractor: Franz Prebeck GmbH & Co. KG
  • Others (Architectural consultancy): Barkow Leibinger

Medium span (30m-60m)

Winner: Sofiero Footbridge, Helsingborg, Sweden

  • Commissioning authority: Helsingborg Stad
  • Principal designer: Dissing+Weitling
  • Structural engineer: schlaich bergermann partner
  • Principal contractor: Bladt Industries - Infrastructure
  • Landscaping: Becht

Long span (greater than 60m)

Winner: Tintagel Castle Bridge, Cornwall, UK

  • Commissioning authority: English Heritage
  • Principal designer: Ney & Partners, William Matthews Associates
  • Structural engineer: Ney & Partners
  • Principal contractor: American Bridge UK

Movable bridges

Winner: Lille Langebro, Copenhagen, Denmark

  • Commissioning authority: Realdania By & Byg
  • Principal designer: Wilkinson Eyre
  • Structural engineer: Buro Happold
  • Principal contractor: JV Mobilis Danmark – Hollandia Infra

New life (renovation, refurbishment, reuse or retrofit bridge project for the primary benefit of pedestrians, cyclists and/or equestrians)

Winner: Pedestrian and cycle footbridge under the Pont Adolphe, Luxembourg

  • Commissioning authority: MDDI – Administration des Ponts & Chaussées
  • Principal designer: CBA Architects
  • Structural engineer: Inca
  • Principal contractor: Soludec

Jonathan Spiers Lighting Award (created in memory of Jonathan Speirs of Speirs & Major)

Winner: Spitalsteg Bridge, Germany

  • Commissioning authority: Stadt Riedlingen
  • Principal designer & structural engineer: schlaich bergermann partner
  • Principal contractor: Franz Prebeck & Co

Highly commended entries

- Short span: Knostrop Bridge, Leeds, UK

  • Commissioning authority: Leeds City Council, Environment Agency
  • Principal designer: Knight Architects
  • Structural engineer: Mott MacDonald
  • Principal contractor: BAM Nuttall
  • Steel fabricator: SH Structures

- Short span: Bridge over the Dretovice stream, Kladno-Vrapice, Bohemia, Czech Republic

  • Commissioning authority: Kladno
  • Principal designer: Klokner Institute in Prague
  • Architect/structural engineer: Aoc architects
  • Principal contractor: KŠ Prefa Štetí

- Medium span: Taplow Footbridge, Taplow, Buckinghamshire, UK

  • Commissioning authority: Berkeley Homes (Oxford & Chiltern)
  • Principal designer: Knight Architects
  • Structural engineer: COWI
  • Principal contractor: Land & Water
  • Steel fabricator: SH Structures

- Long span: Ortenau Bridge, Lahr, Germany

  • Commissioning authority: Stadt Lahr
  • Principal designer: EiSat Engineered Structures
  • Architect: Henchion Reuter Architekten
  • Principal contractor: Arge Meurer-Bau

- Movable bridges: Bio-based composite movable bicycle bridge, Ritsumasyl, the Netherlands

  • Commissioning authority: Province of Fryslân
  • Principal designer: Delft Infra Composites/Sweco- Witteveen+Bos/Antea Group
  • Architect: Quist Wintermans Architekten
  • Principal contractor: Strukton Civiel Noord-Oost

- New life: SACEM bridge enlargement Villabona/Oria, Spain

  • Commissioning authority: Provincial Council of Gipuzkoa
  • Principal designer & structural engineer: Anta Ingeniería Civil
  • Principal contractor: Altuna y Uria

A digital version of the awards brochure containing details of all the winners and highly-commended entries is available by clicking here or on the awards brochure image above.