Winners of the Bridge design & engineering

Footbridge Awards 2008 were recognised in a special awards presentation evening at the Footbridge 2008 conference in Portugal. Engineers, architects and owners representing seven winning footbridge projects and 12 highly commended projects collected their trophies and certificates at the event, which was held in the beautiful Alfândega building on the riverfront in the centre of Porto.

All winning projects received a specially-designed trophy, and all parties involved in the projects that made it through to the finals received a certificate of their achievement.

Winning projects were represented by delegates from eight European countries, as well as delegates who travelled all the way from South Africa and Australia to attend the event.

Aesthetics short-span

Winner: Borgo Tossignano Footbridge, Bologna, Italy

Highly-commended: Sackler Crossing, London, UK and the Drachten Wheel, The Netherlands

Aesthetics medium-span

Winner: Svratka River Bridge, Brno, Czech Republic.

Highly-commended: The Wing, Almere, The Netherlands and the University of Limerick 'Living Bridge', Ireland.

Aesthetics long-span

Winner: Simone de Beauvoir Bridge, Paris, France

Highly commended: Newport City Footbridge, Wales and Tri-Countries Bridge, France/Germany

Technical short span

Winner: Plettenberg Bay Pedestrian Bridge, South Africa

Highly commended: Baden Baden Footbridge, Germany and Papakura Station Footbridge, New Zealand

Technical medium span

Joint winners: Studenci Footbridge, Slovenia and Svratka River Footbridge, Czech Republic

Highly commended: Macintosh Island Pedestrian Bridge, Australia and Oosterdoksdraaibrug, The Netherlands

Technical long span

Winner: Tri-Countries Bridge, France/Germany

Highly commended: Nessebridge Leer, Germany and Passerelle 2006, Italy

Representatives of the Studenci Bridge in Maribor, Slovenia, which was joint winner of the technical medium-span category.